Midi tracks

For general questions or discussion of Auria.

Moderators: Corey W, Rim

grizzi
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:30 am

Midi tracks

Post by grizzi » Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:45 am

I recently did a short segment in a 2000 seat theatre using Auria and an alesis dock. While I used pre recorded vocal tracks on the Auria for that show, my preference would be to have a midi track transmit to a harmonizer on a specific channel for the vocals, thereby leaving the Auria to deal only with the instrument output.

Also, I often use a full orchestra. My output is set to house - right, and click - left for the drummer. Multiple outputs via subs would allow better house control. Is there any hardware that can do this?

Thx

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8328
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Midi tracks

Post by Rim » Wed Apr 24, 2013 5:28 am

Midi is coming to Auria in a future version.

Yes, Auria supports many audio interfaces with multiple outputs, and you can assign these outputs to various subgroups and aux sends using Auria's Output Matrix. There's a list of tested interfaces on our main site.

Rim

donovanjaymz
Expert
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: Midi tracks

Post by donovanjaymz » Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:31 am

Rim, when MIDI is implemented in Auria, will it be able to send and receive CC and SysEx messages? Cubasis for iOS failed miserably on that front. This feature is so critical for controlling virtual synths.

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8328
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Midi tracks

Post by Rim » Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:33 am

Definitely.

Rim

donovanjaymz
Expert
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: Midi tracks

Post by donovanjaymz » Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:00 pm

That's fantastic news. I'm glad to hear it. I'm ready to buy into Auria as soon as MIDI comes out. :-)

40grudge
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 7:53 am

Re: Midi tracks

Post by 40grudge » Fri Apr 26, 2013 8:03 am

I second that notion. WAITING TO PURCHASE Auria when MIDI is included. Several projects I am working on now all require MIDI out. Want to control external vocal & guitar processors through individual MIDI tracks...bank/patch/preset changes during playback for a hands free Live performance.

syrupcore
Expert
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 8:08 pm

Re: Midi tracks

Post by syrupcore » Fri Apr 26, 2013 9:23 pm

Would be wonderful if it also allowed you to capture midi program changes at the top of the track so your external synths (real or virtual) could load the correct patch without trying to keep preset names consistent across N apps. Don't think any other ios daw supports this currently.

donovanjaymz
Expert
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: Midi tracks

Post by donovanjaymz » Sat Apr 27, 2013 8:59 am

I second that request. Midi program changes at the top of the tracks is essential for recalling your patches across multiple synths, both virtual and hardware.

Boab
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:22 am

Re: Midi tracks

Post by Boab » Wed May 01, 2013 9:22 am

I was so intrigued by auria I bought it anyway. I am using cubase for the midi arranging then importing the wav files into auria ( after converting the midi to wav in cubase). I love this daw it is so portable and it sounds great. When the midi update comes along I'll be in ! :D

scharamella
Expert
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:36 pm

Re: Midi tracks

Post by scharamella » Wed May 01, 2013 6:12 pm

I'm hoping with the implementation of MIDI, that it will be possible for Auria to "Chase" midi time code as well....????????

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8328
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Midi tracks

Post by Rim » Wed May 01, 2013 6:24 pm

Yes, Auria's midi implementation will send and chase MTC.

Rim

scharamella
Expert
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:36 pm

Re: Midi tracks

Post by scharamella » Wed May 01, 2013 6:33 pm

WOOHOO.... thanks Rim.


ETA ????

I know, when it's ready :D

cheers
jim

RobB
Expert
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:32 am
Location: Adl, Australia

Re: Midi tracks

Post by RobB » Wed May 01, 2013 6:58 pm

I too am using cubasis for the midi, or was. I've got the s@$ts with it at the moment due to it's absolute basic implementation and excruciatingly frustrating editing. I'm not the only one either if you look on their forum at the posts over the last couple of weeks.

Anyway, is there any way of giving a rought estimate, Rim? 6 months, 12 months? I just don't want to have to buy another app for midi.

I know it's a pain having all these people asking all the time, sorry, but you've created a monster here :)

Rob
iPad Air / 128 | iOS 7.1 | Apogee Duet | Auria 1.14 | Cubasis 1.7.2
Learning to play drums

Rim
Site Admin
Posts: 8328
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 11:08 pm

Re: Midi tracks

Post by Rim » Wed May 01, 2013 7:24 pm

I wish I could be more help with timing, and I know it must be frustrating to keep hearing it, but I'm useless with time estimates ;) I'd rather just let you know I'm working on it, and it's coming along nicely than take a wild guess ;)

Rim

QbAnYtO
Expert
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 4:07 pm

Re: Midi tracks

Post by QbAnYtO » Wed May 01, 2013 7:29 pm

i said it once and i'll say it again, more developers should be like rim :p

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests